RSS

Classic Cigars Top Ten of 2011 … part Deux!

09 Jan

Greetings and Salutations Lords and Ladies of the Leaf!

Sorry that this is so late! We’re working hard to get caught up, thankfully here where I am, it’s been a balmy sixty-degrees or so. What does that mean for Classic Cigar? Well, quite simply friends – we’re outside … “smoking for you”! That being said, one of the things that I really enjoy is getting a chance to compare notes with Kyle and figuring out what the heck I’m doing in regards to smoking.

2011 saw a lot of firsts for me – first thing was my wife decided that my hobby was alright to continue! So we reconditioned my old humidor, and started smoking. And Kyle invited me to come and blog about my thoughts –  someone else valued my cigar smoking opinion! And – I found small batch “boutique” cigars, no longer did I smoke the mass-produced “big name” brands but I danced into the likes of Dion Giolito and the wham-bam thank you ma’am of Pete Johnson!

Kyle and I really enjoyed the makings of Pete Johnson, you’ll find that several of his cigars mark my top ten – what can I say? When you make a good product, you make a good product. No, as stated before, Kyle and I are not Pete Johnson men – we just smoke them. And like Kyle, four of my top ten are from him, several are Dion Giolito’s and the rest? Well … you’ll just have to wait and read them.

‘//otan’s top 10 of 2011 …. drum roll please!

10. Vegas de Santiago Torpedo “Cafe con Leche” (Costa Rica)

9. Illusione 4/2g “Church” (Honduras)

8. Montecriso Media Noche No.2 (Dominican Republic)

7. Illusione Holy Lance Candela “Lancero” (Honduras)

6. Illusione Holy Lance Candela (Honduras)

5. Tatuaje Havana IV “Nobles” (Dominican Republic)

4. Cohiba Maduro V “Secretos” (Cuba)

3. Cabaiguan Guapo 46 (Nicaragua)

2. Tatuaje Black Petite Lancero (Nicaragua)

… and my number 1 cigar for 2011 is …..

1. Ambos Mundos No. 1 Habana (Nicaragua)

Kyle and I found these to be our go to cigar of 2011 – spicy, leathery (like your favorite old book), and rich creamy smoke they were the perfect cigar to compliment a beer, a glass of red wine, and they held up nice to a whole summers worth of grilling and hanging out. Being a cigar reviewing “novice” this smoke truly won over my palate and made me excited for what Pete Johnson would bring in the new year.

I wish you long ashes this year, and stay tuned for our first ever “From our humidor to yours” give-away.

Thanks so much for reading!

‘//otan

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Classic Cigars Top Ten of 2011 … part Deux!

  1. Swede214

    January 10, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Thanks, that was a ”cool” review,a lot of deferent cigars that I have not heard of before, I’m some what new smoking cigars, three years now,looking forward to reading more.

     
  2. kaleehb

    January 17, 2012 at 2:11 am

    Swede214,

    Thanks so much! Remember – Kyle and I are certainly not “professional” cigar smokers – we’re not owned by any company which means we support the philosophy of “tell it like it is”. If it’s junk, we’ll let you know. If it’s great – you’ll know that too! Welcome to the blog – keep on commenting and reading!

    Cheers!
    ‘//otan

     

Leave a Reply

 
